A Reading Recap: Featuring Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

Hello lovely book lovers,

Libby here reporting from Book Box Club HQ from under a pile of box and packing samples. We have been busy over here secretly deciding what we want to put in our very first Book Box Club box. We are keeping that information safely under wraps but we couldn’t wait to start talking to you all about books!

Although it has been all systems go this month we are ,of course, still managing to find time to read (because, who needs sleep right?).

photo

I finished the epic A Little Life and jumped straight in to Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. I haven’t read any other Cecelia Ahern books but I assumed that Flawed would be a bit of light reading that would soothe me back in after the life changing, gut wrenching heartache that was A Little Life. I can’t say I was completely right there. Although it started and got straight into the action it was actually more of a Hunger Games-esque story of political rebellion than the romance I had expected judging by the cover. I had obviously not read much online before hand or I might have had a bit of pre-warning.

Just because I didn’t think I was in the mood for it, doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. Celestine’s accidental heroism that leads her to be captured and branded ‘morally flawed’ followed by her subsequent involvement in a rebellion was a fast paced plot that raised many questions about society and class division. The ‘flawed’ are treated like lepers and many of the punishments and the common people’s reaction to them are more than a little reminiscent of apartheid. I enjoyed the political tension and the realistic descriptions of how the press can alter public perception during a court case and destroy a person’s reputation in the flourish of a journalist’s pen.

The plot I enjoyed. But…there was something about the main character Celestine that didn’t ring true for me. I’m just not sure where her sudden moral compass came from; her mother and father seem slightly vacuous and everyone around her, even her supposedly rebellious sister seemed to ignore the dubious decisions of the ruling government. The awkward love triangle was far-fetched and disappointing too. Also, I am never keen on books that lead up to a big climax, to wind up the pace right before the last page. Flawed left too many loose ends hanging over to book two and the next in the series, Perfect, isn’t due out until April next year. I don’t know about anyone else but if I’m reading a series I like a.) for each book to work in its own right with a complete story arc and no massive cliff-hangers and b.) ideally for the next book to be well on its way towards publication. I have a habit of forgetting plot lines quite soon after I’ve read them and I just know I’ll not remember enough of Flawed by the time the next one arrives to carry on Celestine’s story. I guess I should have left it on my tbr shelf for quite a while longer.

In summary, Flawed is probably worth a read and maybe I just wasn’t on the right mood for it. I guess I’ll  just have to reacquaint myself with the story before book two. I’d love to hear what you guys thought of it. Was it just me who found Celestine a bit two dimensional? Anyone out there eagerly anticipating book two? How cool was Celestine’s Grandad (#favecharacterbyfar)? Let me know in the comments.

Lots of love and happy reading,

Libby

P.S. To all those who have subscribed to our newsletter, followed, liked and shared our posts, thank you so much. It’s amazing to hear from people out there who are as excited about Book Box Club as we are!

Leave a Reply

