I packed my bag… and in it I put…

Hello lovely book blog readers,

By the time you read this I will be lying on a beach in sunny North Cyprus, eating ice cream for breakfast and reading without distractions. Right now that seems very far away. I am currently sitting on my bed, my hot laptop on my legs, surrounded by piles of random beach clothes that have not seen the light of day for years, for good reason, no doubt.

At least I have the books I’m taking with me sorted. In fact they seem to be the only item in my suitcase thus far! I’m sure you guys can understand this; only true book-lovers choose their holiday reading before their outfits and I bet most of you pack using my startlingly efficient technique.

So… I will be taking a couple of top secret ARCs with me to judge whether they’re awesome enough to be included them in your Book Box Club boxes for the coming months, but as well as I those, I am taking this opportunity to make a dent in my growing TBR pile/shelf/bookcase. Here is the run down of what’s in my case:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I know, I know; I should have finished this by now. ‘Call yourself a Harry Potter Fan?’ My boyfriend scoffed at me over breakfast. I have got to the end of part one, to be fair, before I realised that it was all going to end too fast and that I needed some peace and quiet and time for contemplation. So, in the bag The Cursed Child went.

And I Darken by Kiersten White

If you follow us on Instagram you may have noticed that I have already started reading this (if you don’t, quick, follow us now!). I was supposed to be saving it for the beach but all you bookstagrammers with your gorgeous photos of this beauty seduced me to open it early. It’s amazing. I am hooked. I hope there will be enough left to get me through the plane journey! Also, I am heading off to The Turkish side of Cyprus and this book is set in the Ottoman Empire so I thought it might help set the vibe a bit.

The Otherlife by Julia Grey

I bought this the other day on a whim based on the beautiful cover design. People who say you can’t judge a book by it’s cover are just wrong. You can and I do, frequently. I really hope I’m right here but something tells me this is going to be great. Katherine Rundell (whose book Rooftoppers both of us here at Book Box Club absolutely love) describes The Otherlife as: “Gripping, bold and completely original”, and the blurb mentions Norse myths and the god Loki. How amazing does that sound? I’ll let you know how I get on!

The Power of the Dog by Thomas Savage

Ok, this might seem random. You are right; it’s definitely not YA. I do like to mix it up a bit and this book comes highly recommended by my bookish buddy Emma and I trust her judgement. I also have some weird book loves when it comes to adult fiction; one of those is books set in the American west and another is books about the relationship between brothers (if any of you have any recommendations based off these two unlinked themes then do let me know!). I don’t know what it is, something about brothers sticking together through tough times or, as the blurb on this novel suggests, making each other’s lives miserable, hits me right in the feels! Apparently, ‘from visceral start to electrifying end, Power of the Dog will hold you in its grip’. SOLD. In the bag.

20160814_184743

This little stack as well as the couple of ARCs I’m excited to get my teeth into add up to six… I’m thinking that is enough for a 12 day holiday. I am a pretty quick reader, though and this holiday will mostly involve lying down…I don’t know! How many do you guys usually take when you go away? What books have you read on your most recent trip? Have you read and loved (or not loved) any of these ones? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below or on our social media channels, even if it will be too late to help with my packing dilemmas! I promise I will report back on how I get on with my stack on my return.

I hope you all have a lovely week and that you are filling your days with lovely things.

Love,
Libby x

2 thoughts on “I packed my bag… and in it I put…

  1. ahh this is such a lovely post!!! i hope you enjoy and i darken- let me know what you think because i am conflicted 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Georgia! I loved And I Darken but did you say you were in two minds about it? I’m going to write a review on it soon, I think it deserves one. I was a bit sad about the ending but I loved the setting and the characters sooo much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

