Introducing…one of our October suppliers: Meraki Candles

Hello bookish friends,

Libby here typing away at Book Box Club HQ as some of the first October Freedom Squad items start to arrive. We are so excited to share this box with you, so much so that we wrote a whole blog full of sneak peeks, (because we couldn’t contain ourselves!) if you missed that then click here to give it a read. We are thrilled to announce that one of the brilliant suppliers we will be working with on your October box is…Meraki Candles! Hooray!

Heather from Meraki Candles has combined two of our favourite things: scented candles and books. What could be more perfect than lighting a pretty candle and infusing your whole room with the scent of you current read? It definitely adds to the reading experience for me. In fact, I think I first came across Meraki Candles on Etsy when I was mid-way through A Court of Mist and Fury and, for some crazy reason, frantic to get my hands on anything Rhysand themed. I know there are a lot of people out there who know what I mean; I was a woman possessed and Heather’s beautiful Night Court scent helped be through the lingering ‘book hangover’ phase perfectly!

Because we are so excited to collaborate with Heather for our Freedom Squad box, we thought we would find out a little bit more about her. In fact, we are so interested in what makes artistic people tick, we decided to make this a series, so make yourselves comfortable and get ready for the second in the…Book Box Club- Crafty Q&A series…

BOOK BOX CLUB CRAFTY Q&A
Heather – Meraki Candles 

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

So Heather, we know you love books, tell us about your favourites.

My favourite books are definitely ya fantasy with a hint of dystopia. I love genres that really make me use my imagination.

Which of your creations are you proudest of and why?

I think I’m most proud of my Meraki Box. I always thought it would be cool to have a box of candles delivered to my door so figured that I may as well do it!

What does your crafting area look like?

An absolute mess haha. I work in my kitchen so it can get very hectic, especially at dinner time. I have a really nice scent rack though, I’m very proud of it.

What do you eat whilst you craft?

Pasta mostly, since I’m already working at the cooker I always make sure to cook myself something healthy. It’s so easy to snack on rubbish when you have no set breaks so I try and structure my day to make sure that I get a good lunch.

Have you ever had a crafting disaster?

I have crafting disasters daily. My most common is dropping melted wax everywhere which is an absolute nightmare to clean up.

What inspires you to craft and how did you begin?

Books inspire me mostly, when you have an interest in the kind of books we enjoy, it’s easy to come up with ideas and stay excited about what you’re doing. I began just as a hobby to tide me over for a while, but I ended up loving it so much that I just kept doing it. And the Instagram is community is so amazing, I guess everyone on there keeps me inspired too.

Apart from making beautiful things and reading what do you like doing?

In my spare time I like to paint and draw. I also spend every spare moment with my rabbit, his name is Ollie and he isn’t as big a fan of the candles haha.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

If you are interested in hearing more about Heather and her beautiful candles then check out her etsy profile.

Remember, if you want to get your hands on the Meraki Candle item in our Freedom Squad box then click here now and subscribe to avoid disappointment, we only have a limited number of boxes available.

Love,

Libby

P.S. Thank you to Heather for being a star and for these lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

