Introducing one of our very talented December crafters…

Happy Saturday fellow book-lovers!

Over here at Book Box Club HQ we’re in a flurry of excitement because lots of absolutely gorgeous goodies are beginning to arrive for our December MAGIC BY NIGHT boxes.

This box will contain one early release YA magical read, perfect for fans of Maggie Steifvater or the vividly drawn world of The Night Circus. Libby and I have had our eye on this book for some time and we are so thrilled to be sharing it with our subscribers this December. The book is a fiery read with strands of feminism, fairytales and of course… magic! AND as well as this brilliant book and all those gorgeous goodies, all of our December members will receive an invite to our members-only online book group in early 2017, where you’ll get to chat with the author of our featured book and each other.

If you’d like to receive the MAGIC BY NIGHT box, head over to our website and subscribe or ask persuade someone who gets just how much you love books to treat you to a membership this Christmas. December boxes will be sent out in time to arrive to gift on Christmas Day. Remember, we only have a limited number of boxes so sign up soon to avoid disappointment.

Right now… we thought we’d give you a sneaky peek inside our December box, by introducing you to one of our very talented featured crafters. So, without further ado, I’m delighted to reveal that our first December supplier is… FABLE & BLACK!

Stacey McEvoy Caunt is a Nottingham-based designer and creator. Her brightly coloured stationery, jewellery, accessories and homewares are all inspired by our favourite things – books! We fell in love with Stacey’s beautiful graphic style when we spotted her work on Not on the High Street and we’re so excited to be featuring one of her unashamedly bookish items in our December box.

We wanted to get to know more about the brains behind Fable & Black so we quizzed Stacey about being arty and bookish in our crafty Q&A…

BOOK BOX CLUB CRAFTY Q&A
Fable and Black

fable-and-black-logo2

We know you love books – so tell us about your favourites.

That’s such a hard question! It depends on how I am feeling at the time, but it goes without saying that Harry Potter is definitely up there. Followed closely by Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials Trilogy, and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy. I mostly read YA novels, and anything with a bit of magic and fantasy in it. (Now I’m putting some thought into it I’m coming up with a lot more contenders for favourite books, but I’ll leave it at those three otherwise the list might be never-ending!)

Which of your creations are you proudest of and why?

I actually find it super hard to be proud of my own stuff, I am far too critical of myself. If I had to choose something, it would probably be my ‘Drink Tea and Read Books Print’ – it was the first piece of hand lettering I did, so I am very fond of it.

What does your crafting area look like?

My crafting area is in the corner of my living room – I would share a photo but it’s currently chaos! I have a big white desk, a bookshelf with my favourite books on it right next to me, and its decorated with all sorts of pictures and items I love or find inspiring. I usually tried to keep it tidy, safe to say I have failed at that recently!

What do you eat whilst you craft and what do you listen to?

I have a really bad habit of forgetting to eat when I’m working, but usually I’ll grab a banana or a slice of toast during the day. As for what I listen to, I usually have one of my favourite shows on in the background when I’m working. Something I’ve seen lots of times so it doesn’t distract me, such as Buffy or Supernatural.

Have you ever had a crafting disaster?

I don’t think I’ve really had a crafting disaster before, most of my work involves sitting at a desk drawing or on the computer. Oh actually, this was a very very long time ago when I first started out – I used to make these hand-sewn robin Christmas tree decorations. One day they we’re featured in a newspaper and I had no idea, until I found myself hand sewing hundreds of robins until the early hours. My hands hurt for a very long time afterwards.

What inspires you to craft and how did you begin?

I’ve always been creative for as long as I can remember, always drawing and painting things. One day after finishing University and not really knowing what to do with myself next, I discovered Etsy. I was amazed that people could actually make money from selling the things they make and draw – my mind was blown. As for what inspires me to craft, I don’t know really – I just always want to draw.

Apart from making beautiful things and reading what do you like doing?

The usual things, seeing family and friends, napping, Netflix, eating, exploring and spending time with the Husband. When I’m not making or drawing things for the business I’m usually drawing or creating something else for myself or friends. There definitely aren’t enough hours in the day for all the things I want to do!

And there you have it! Thanks so much to Stacey for these great answers. If you’d like to see more of Fable and Black’s gorgeous bookish items head over to their website and have a browse. You’ll find lots of Christmas shopping inspiration there! And to lay your hands on one of her creations AND a brilliant book, AND lots more goodies AND an invite to our members-only book group head over to our website and sign up for our Magic by Night box!

Enjoy your weekends everyone. Read and relax!

Lots of love,
Kate  xx

Leave a Reply

