YA Books of the Year: 2016

Happy Saturday everyone!

Over here at Book Box Club HQ we’re in a sea of bright turquoise shred, silver paper and bookish goodies as we pack up your Magic by Night boxes to be posted next week. We still have just a few boxes left, so if you would like to join us for our December box, head over to our website and subscribe.

Libby and I are both absolute book geeks and one of the coolest things about starting up Book Box Club is that we have read some truly amazing books. Each month we scour the new releases lists and devour title after title searching for the very best YA stories to bring to our readers. All Book Box Club books get selected by a lengthy process of reading, discussing and cut-throat decision making, as we pick only the very best books to send to our members.

There’s been so many books which I’ve read this year, that I could have happily sent out to you guys (if only we had a box that could hold ten books each month!) so I thought I’d take a moment to tell you about some of my favourite reads of 2016.

It goes without saying that 3 of my faves have been the first three books that we included in your September, October and November boxes. They were:

blog-pic-december-112

  1. The Call by Peadar O’Guilin – a twisty fast-paced dystopian novel set in Ireland, where teenagers are being “called” to a nightmarish world known as the Greylands. They must survive a brutal three minute expedition in order to return home… but very few return!
  2. The Hypnotist by Laurence Anholt – I loved this moving historical story set in the American Deep South and featuring a black orphan boy named Pip, a mute Native American girl and a professor of neurology who must join forces to escape the racism and violence of the Klu Klux Klan.
  3. The Stranger Game – an unnerving thriller about a young girl who mysteriously disppears, leaving her little sister secretly relieved to be free of her sister’s cruelty. Then four years later, missing Sarah returns, much changed from the sibling that Nico once knew.

The next book on my list would have to be the book in our December box… but that’s a secret, so I won’t say anymore about that. Fans of Maggie Steifvater and The Night Circus, of fairytales and feminism are bound to love it though!

In addition to the books that have made it into our Book Box Club boxes, some of my other favourites of 2016 include:

  • Nightwanderers by C.J. Flood: I reviewed this book for our blog earlier this year. This is such an honest story of teenage female friendship under pressure. Think bitchy girls vs real failsafe girlfriends with some wandering around coastal paths at night – awesome!
  • The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling: Frankly any opportunity to get another instalment of Hogwarts is going to be a hit with me… It made the list because I love the Wizarding World in all its forms. Not 100% sure about reading in the play format, though.
  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon: A romance with a logic vs. love aspect and lots of gritty interesting cultural stuff too. Natasha and her Jamaican family are going to be deported in 24 hours, as she races across New York trying to secure her place in the US she bumps into Daniel who takes it upon himslef to make Natasha fall in love with him, despite her logical anti-romance attitude!
  •  And I Darken by Kiersten White: This one is actually one of Libby’s favourite reads of this year. It follows the ruthless Lada and her sweeter brother Radu as they find themselves ripped from their homeland and tossed into the political world of the Ottoman courts. Full of concubines, power and illicit affairs as well as fascinating historical detail.
  • We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan: this book isn’t out to next year but I was lucky enough to read an ARC and it is SOOOOO amazing. Like One it’s told in a poetry/prose form, which sounds a bit daunting, but once you get into the style it just washes over you and you don’t give its unusalness a second thought. This is a book about two young offenders: rebellious Jess whose crappy home life has led to a life a petty theft and the truly wonderful Nicu – a Romanian boy whose also been caught stealing. I absolutely adored Nicu – he’s completely lovely and his stilted English seems to capture his meaning even more perfectly than if he were fluent in the language. I’m so excited for other people to read this book when it comes out next year. If like me, you’ve been lucky enough to read a proof – tell me so we can chat about it!
  • The Graces by Laure Eve: I love anything witchy and this was irresistible. It’s about these ethereal siblings who are rumoured to be witches and a smug outsider who decides she wants in on their group.
  • What Light by Jay Asher: If you’re in the mood for something festive you must check this out. It’s set about a girl who leaves home each year to work on her family’s Christmas tree stall. There’s lots of peppermint mochas, wintery scenes and a festive love story with a rumoured bad boy!

Have you guys read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Or what would you list in your favourite reads of 2016. Drop me a line in the comments or if you’re a Book Box Club member head over to our Reading Room and and get involved in the 2016’s best books conversation topic that I’ve just started!

Happy reading everyone. Have lovely weekends.

Love,
Kate xx

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s