Introducing one of our very talented January suppliers…

Hello bookish friends,
It’s that time of the month again. Recent exciting deliveries are  all over the living room and there is a large cardboard city in the hall made up of Book Box Club boxes piled high. Posting week is upon us and we are giddy with excitement all over again as we get ready to post out our January Immortal Stories boxes. The January boxes are now SOLD OUT but for those of you who were lucky enough to grab one, we have a sneaky sneak peek for you in the form of a supplier reveal!
We scoured far and wide this month looking for unique items that you might not have come across before and that would compliment our Immortal Stories theme. So… When we came across Chelley Reads Designs on Redbubble, we were thrilled. Not only is Michelle a brilliant designer, but she is also a book lover and prolific blogger (a winning combination in our eyes!). If you like YA and romance reads then do head over to Undeniably Book Nerdy to read some of her reviews.
We wanted to get to know more about the brains behind Chelley Reads so we quizzed Michelle about being arty and bookish in our crafty Q&A…

BOOK BOX CLUB CRAFTY Q&A
Chelley Reads Designs

chelley.jpg
We know you love books – so tell us about your favourites.
chelley face.png
One of my all time favorites is The Wrath and the Dawn and its sequel The Rose and the Dagger. I love the duology for its swoony romance (Shazi + Khalid 4eva!), the beautiful, lyrical writing, and the gorgeous world building. I’m a huge lover of romance and I have a few auto-buy authors like Christina Lauren (I highly recommend their Wild Seasons series), Julie James (my absolute favorite by her is Practice Makes Perfect), and Elle Kennedy (her Off-Campus series is a must-read for all new adult fans and those wanting to get into the genre).
Wchelley2.JPGhich of your creations are you proudest of and why? 

The design I am most proud of is my very first one. I wanted a mug with our blog’s name on it but I couldn’t find any designs I like in the colors that I wanted. So, I decided to create my own design and had it printed on a mug. This was the start of a new little hobby–I had so much fun creating it that I wanted to do more so I started putting together other designs and decided to upload them on Redbubble, because why not?

What does your designing area look like?
My design area is my bed, a comfy pillow behind my back, and my laptop on my lap. It’s nothing fancy. Everything is done on my computer.What do you eat whilst you craft and what do you listen to?
Since I do most of my designing in bed, usually late in the night, I don’t snack. But, I always have my headphones on and listen to either Spotify (mostly piano covers of popular songs) or an audiobook.Have you ever had a designing disaster?
Not really a disaster, per se, but there were instances when I put together a design and I was really happy with how it turned out – I even uploaded it to my Redbubble shop only to realize that something was misspelled, or the design itself can’t be placed right on a specific product so I have to rework it.

What inspires you to design and how did you begin?
I’m inspired by quotes from my favorite books and book cover designs and colors. I’m inspired by the resources and assets that I own–I like trying to figure out how I can put them together in an aesthetically pleasing way. I usually pick a quote, then I try to figure out what colors and assets I want to use. I sometimes have a vision in my head of what I want the final design to look like, but more often I just play around with fonts, colors, and different graphics until I’m happy with it.
Apart from making beautiful things and reading what do you like doing?
I love to eat, and I really like trying new restaurants and different things on the menu. I love to binge watch shows on Netflix. I also blog about books and all the bookish things with my younger sister on our blog Undeniably Book Nerdy. And, of course, I love just hanging out and spending time with my family and friends.
fullsizerender-1
So there we have it! We are so excited to have so many of you joining us for our January box, I really think you’ll all love the book – the story is just so unique and the cover is BEAUTIFUL!
If you missed out on an Immortal Stories box then never fear, we still have some of our February TROUBLEMAKERS boxes available and we promise you this box is going to be a stunner. The book is one that will make you laugh and cry and is perfect for those in the mood for reading about mishaps, melodrama and mistakes that spiral out of control. Seriously, if you like Holy Bourne, Rainbow Rowell or Nicola Yoon then this is the box for you! Click here to soak up some more Troublemakers vibes with our theme reveal trailer. And look out in the coming weeks for more sneak peeks into February’s box…
For now it’s back to the wrapping desk for me! Have a lovely week everyone.
Love, Libby x
Leave a Reply

