Introducing…one of our very talented February suppliers..

Happy weekend, everyone!

We are getting all organised for our upcoming boxes. Brainstorming theme ideas for our future boxes, scouring the internet for lots of amazing craftspeople and, of course, doing lots and lots of reading! We love that there are so many like-minded people on the internet and it is always a lovely surprise to find so many kindred spirits in the online bookish community.It’s such a treat to be able to work alongside so many people who are not only just as unashamedly bookish as we are, but who also have an amazing talent for creating beautiful things. We are in awe of so many of the brillinatly bookish items that we come across each month so each month we like celebrate our new crafty friends, right here on this blog.

This month we are super-excited to welcome Kent based candle connoisseur Danielle from Bookworm Candles to the Book Box Club circle. Her beautiful candles have long been on our ‘need’ list and we can’t wait to feature one in our February Troublemakers. Who doesn’t love a bookish candle? And with packaging like this I can guarantee that once you’ve unboxed the one we are featuring this month, and given it a sniff, you will want to buy Danielle’s whole collection!

We wanted to get to know Danielle a little better and find out more about what makes her crafty mind tick so we quizzed her about books, inspiration and crafting disasters…

BOOK BOX CLUB CRAFTY Q&A:
Bookworm Candles & Crafts

bookworm-image

We know you love books – so tell us about your favourites.
Well my favourites, goodness I have a lot. I read manly YA, my favourite series has to be the graceling books by Kristin Cashore, especially Fire. I love the characters and the world that they are from – it’s gorgeous and I would so love to go there.

Which of your creations are you proudest of and why?
Another tough question… erm I think our moments candles are fantastic and I’m so proud that I’ve taken favourite parts or chapters of books and turned them in to candles. It’s so so challenging.

What does your crafting area look like?
My husband and dad built me a room in our garden and I totally love it. It’s lilac and girlie and smells amazing.

ron-canlde

What do you eat whilst you craft and what do you listen to?
I love fruit, so it’s normally grapes or dried fruit or nuts. I know it sounds so healthy. I’m obsessed with audio books, I have hundreds and I devour them on a daily basis.

Have you ever had a crafting disaster?
It’s such a learning curve making candles. But yes, when I first created Aelin from the throne of glass series I just couldn’t get the burning embers aspect right, I had a whole batch that smelt like bonfire.

What inspires you to craft and how did you begin?
I’ve been crafting for years and I studied jewellery design at college. I’ve also worked in the perfume industry for nearly 20 years, so scents and jewellery and blending those aspects into candles came naturally.

Apart from making beautiful things and reading what do you like doing?
I’m married to a lovely man and have a cute doggy. I also have 4 horses and they keep me busy a lot of the time. I also work a day job part-time,candle so as you can imagine I’m a busy bee.

There you have it! We are so excited to be including a Bookworm candle in this month’s box and we can’t wait for you all to see/smell it. We have ordered extras so we can have one each too! Thank you so much to Danielle for being such a star and a joy to work with. I urge you all to head over to her Etsy store and Instagram and give her a follow.

Have a lovely bookish weekend, one and all!

Libby & Kate

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

