Wizardly reading!

Happy Saturday book lovers!

So it is no secret that I am a MASSIVE Harry Potter fan. And I know that being a Potterhead is old news (because seriously, who isn’t a Harry Potter fan?), but our May Wizards at War box has got me feeling all nostalgic for my Potter obsessed teenage years where I spent most of my time:
a.) reading Harry Potter books
b.) reading fantasy books that bear some resemblance to a Harry Potter book, or
c.) sketching characters and magical creatures from Harry Potter books (badly).

I was a pretty cool teenager but I feel like you guys won’t judge me on that!

Whilst reading any kind of fantasy I could get my hands on, I came in to contact with some of the best wizards in history, so today I thought I’d share a list of my favourites! I’d love to hear about some of yours and do feel free to argue who is/isn’t a wizard on my list, I have gone by the rule ‘if he casts spells… he’s a wizard!’

Wands_of_Hogwarts'_students_and_staff_04

1. Albus Dumbledore from The Harry Potter series.

Is there anyone who embodies the word ‘wizard’ quite like Dumbledore? I love him! I love how Harry’s (and the reader’s) perception of him changes so much throughout the series too; to begin with Dumbledore could do no wrong, he was a wise and all powerful badass! After the 4th book it started to become clear that he was flawed, too trusting and potentially not as wise as we first thought and we all know how mortal he ended up in Half Blood Prince! *sob*. I can’t wait to hear more about Dumbledore’s backstory in Fantastic Beasts (especially as I heard on the grapevine that Jude Law has been cast as the young wizard!).

2. Gandalf the Grey from The Lord of the Rings

Ok, so I have controversial mixed feelings about LOTR. I’m a massive fan of The Hobbit, but I found the trilogy hard going… I’m sorry, I know we have some big fans in our club! There can be no denying, however, that Gandalf is the father of all wizards despite his drinking and pipe smoking and love of Hobbits. I like how his power is only hinted at for so long, the reader is left wondering why he is the adviser of Kings until all the Balrog vanquishing, of course!

3. The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy

Why is it that the baddies are so often the ones who keep us hooked? I LOVE the Darkling’s complicated character, I think Leigh Bardugo writes broken bad boys so well (Kaz Brekker anyone?) and by the end of Ruin and Rising I was an emotional wreck! The Darkling is so powerfully evil, but pitiful too and I love the way his powers (and all Grisha powers) are described in these books. I’m one of those fantasy fans who feels like the magic powers need to make some sort of elemental sense instead of just ‘wham bam, abracadabra’ spells and the whole Grisha world does not disappoint.

4. Kvothe from The Name of the Wind

Anyone who has read the Kingkiller Chronicle will no doubt already be a Kvothe fan. If you haven’t read these books, and you are a fan of fantasy then you really really need to. It has to be one of my favourite fantasy series and that is saying something. I can’t guarantee that calling Kvothe a wizard really counts, but I couldn’t have a list without mentioning him. Is there anything this guy can’t do? The youngest pupil to enter The University (where magic is studied), talented lute player, hand-to-hand combat expert and pickpocket pro, how could you not love reading about his adventures?

—-

Honorary mentions also go to: Merlin, Ged (Sparrowhawk) from The Earthsea Series by Ursula le Guin and Schmendrick the Magician for The Last Unicorn by Peter Beagle (because he wishes he was powerful enough to make this list!).

image4

Do you have a favourite wizard in literature? Do you think there are some that I’ve missed on my list that you’d like to make a case for? Can you recommend me your favourite fantasy books, I am planning on reading some great ones I have missed over the summer and I know that you guys always have the best suggestions! Please comment below or message me on our social media with a list and I will add them to the TBR.

If you are pining after some seriously magical swashbuckle and you are not already on the list for our May box then head on over to our website to subscribe now. The theme is Wizards at War and will feature a brand new YA hardback that fans of Harry Potter and the magical worlds created by Leigh Bardugo, V.E. Schwab and Alwyn Hamilton will LOVE. We are so excited to be including some amazing bookish goodies from very talented craftspeople and that all-important invitation to our members-only book group in The Clubhouse where you’ll get to chat to the author of our featured read and our other unashamedly bookish members. Hooray!

Have a wizardly weekend everyone!

Love, Libby
xx

Leave a Reply

